Roland’s Fantom

Blogroll

Hey you guys. Well, today will be the first time that I’m writing about something I don’t have in my possession. Well, I’m doing this for some reasons: for one, I’m obsessed by Roland equipments and specially Fantoms and V-Synths. For second I have always wanted to write something about the Fantom. So, here you are.

About my so mentioned fucking beloved computer, we had some progress working on it last night, but, after some more work, it went back to ground zero. We are with some options in mind and we’re really working on that. We had the opportunity to backup my important stuff, and list other files that I would have to download – like, for instance, mp3 – and format that shit up, but, my father’s really intrigued with what’s wrong with that PC, so, we’ll keep on trying to find out what’s happening.

Other cool stuff is that me and a great buddy of mine will start writing on another blog some stuff about a project of ours – which envolves gesamtkunstwerk (see the General Glossary & Concepts page for more information) – and I’m really looking foward to it. Hope it all goes right and awesome!

So, let’s move on…

Review


Almost everybody on the synthesizers/workstation/keyboards market or world, if you wish so, has already heard about Roland’s Fantom. I’m not limiting my post to which one, FA76, S, X or G. I’m fascinated by them all. After some – actually, lots of – time listening to demos, watching videos, reading reviews, user manuals, specifications and all kind of possible information about what does Fantom do to make it a really awesome and remarkable workstation, and how it has created a uncountable number of fans all over the world, I’ve decided to write somethings I’ve learned about it. I’ll not write about procedures or specific process of it, I’ll write about what fascinates me and makes me wish one of those day after day, more and more.

Back in the years, in 2001, Roland released Fantom FA76, the first workstation of the family. It had – as it’s name shows – 76 velocity sensitive and channel aftertouch keys, with 64 voices of polyphony. Two years later, they released Fantom S, the first with built-on sampler. You could not only create your sounds with internal ROM samples – which already were great, by the way, and had a total size of 64 MB filled with awesome waveforms – but you could also import other sounds to your RAM and incorporate them onto your patches and performances. Fantom S was released in two versions: one with the common 61 synth keys, and other one with 88 hammer-action keys.
In 2004, Fantom X comes and blows up everybody’s minds. With 128 MB of head-cracking sample waveforms, 128 notes of polyphony, 1408 Preset Patches (256 from GM2) in addition to the 256 user patches and the option for you to save and read your patches (and performs and samples as well) in a flash memory card, the possibilities were numberless. They’ve released Fantom X in three versions, X6, X7 and X8, with 61, 76 and 88 hammer-action keys, respectively.
With everybody thinking Roland couldn’t do anything better than Fantom X, for it’s hi-technology, Roland surprised the world with the release of the Fantom G.

With the chocking number of more than 2150 waveforms, in 256 MB of ROM, 1756 (256 from GM2) patches, 73 rhythm sets (9 from GM2), 512 Live sets and 127 Studio sets, in addition to all the 1216 user slots for saving your patches, rhythm, Live and Studio sets into your Fantom’s memory. And, of course, you have the option to save/read from a flash memory card as well as in the Fantom X.
Roland’s Fantom G is the first workstation on the market to have connectivity for an USB mouse, so you can edit your sets even easier on the 8.5” wide color LCD screen.

Already thinking of buying one? Wait to see the demo files on their website. Here, check it out: RolandUs.com

Yeah, Roland’s amazing.
I’m a little bit tired of writing right now, so, I’ll continue later, aight?

Cya,

~ by Breno Ronchini on August 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “Roland’s Fantom”

  1. So… when are you getting one?! It’s about time you get a Fantom! :)

  2. Can Fantom G do styles like G70 or Tyros from Yamaha ? Other than that everything is great about the Fantom G. I would like to do music production and also be able to jam like one-man-band.

Leave a Reply

 
